Back to Top

Newcastle Branch

Play-Doh Engineers (P.A. Day Adventures!)

- Comments: 0

[Ages 6 and up]

Newcastle Branch, George and Kathleen Vice Community Room
Friday, September 27th
1:30 to 2:30 p.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

The possibilities are endless when building with Play-Doh®! Take part in challenges and become a Play-Doh Engineer!

Be sure to check out our other P.A. Day Adventures on this day!

 

Please note that caregivers of children under the age of 10 must be present in the Library for the duration of the program.

 

Location: 
Date: 
Friday, September 27, 2019 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Audience: 

Infant Hearing Clinic

- Comments: 0

[Caregivers with children 4 months and under]

Newcastle Branch, Study Suite
Alternate Wednesdays, from September 11th to December 18th
10:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Please note no session will be held on Wednesday, December 4 due to staff training. An alternate session is being held on Wednesday, December 11.

Advanced registration required for each 15 minute session through the Markham Stouffville Hospital at 1-888-703-5437 x4.

Children develop speech and language skills by listening and imitating those around them, but these skills may be delayed in the case of deafness or hearing loss.

Sign up your infant for a screening if you have hearing-related concerns, and learn about the follow-up services available to your family.

Presented in partnership with Markham Stouffville Hospital, the lead agency for the Tri-Regional Infant Hearing Program.

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every 2 weeks every Wednesday until Wed Dec 18 2019 except Wed Dec 04 2019. Also includes Wed Dec 11 2019.
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Wednesday, December 18, 2019 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
Audience: 

Baby Massage Class (Session 4)

- Comments: 0

[Caregivers with children 12 months and under]

Newcastle Branch, George and Kathleen Vice Community Room
Mondays, October 28th to November 25th  
1:30 to 3:00 p.m.

Advanced registration required for five-class workshop series; space is limited.  Register online, in person, or by phone.
No charge.

Treat your baby to a relaxing massage! This interactive five-week workshop series promotes infant development and bonding. Learn relaxing massage strokes for your baby that increase circulation and relax their growing muscles. All you need to bring is yourself and your baby!

Presented in Partnership with EarlyON Child and Family Centres Bowmanville.

 

Registration

You may register your child(ren) in person at any branch, by phoning Information Services at 905-623-7322 x2712, or online using the form below.

(If you experience any issues with the form below or if it does not appear correctly, please try using the Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers.)

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Nov 25 2019.
Monday, October 28, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, November 4, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, November 11, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, November 18, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, November 25, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Audience: 

Baby Massage Class (Session 1)

- Comments: 0

[Caregivers with children 12 months and under]

Newcastle Branch, George and Kathleen Vice Community Room
Mondays, September 9th to October 7th   
1:30 to 3:00 p.m.

Advanced registration required for five-class workshop series; space is limited.  Register online, in person, or by phone.
No charge.

Treat your baby to a relaxing massage! This interactive five-week workshop series promotes infant development and bonding. Learn relaxing massage strokes for your baby that increase circulation and relax their growing muscles. All you need to bring is yourself and your baby!

Presented in Partnership with EarlyON Child and Family Centres Bowmanville.

 

Registration

You may register your child(ren) in person at any branch, by phoning Information Services at 905-623-7322 x2712, or online using the form below.

(If you experience any issues with the form below or if it does not appear correctly, please try using the Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers.)

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Oct 07 2019.
Monday, September 9, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, September 16, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, September 23, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, September 30, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Monday, October 7, 2019 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm
Audience: 

Canada Learning Bonds

- Comments: 0

Newcastle Branch, George and Kathleen Vice Community Room
Tuesday, November 19th
2:00 to 6:00 p.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Start saving for your child’s education today! The best part: it won’t cost you a dime!
The Canada Learning Bond is a benefit from the Government of Canada that provides moderate income families the chance to start saving for their children’s post-secondary education now and at no cost.

Your children are eligible if:

  •     They were born in 2004 or later; and
  •     Your annual net family income is under $47,000.

Every eligible child will receive $500, and could receive up to $2,000.

When you attend, please bring your social insurance number, and the birth certificates and social insurance numbers for your eligible children.  

Presented in partnership with Durham Region.

 

Location: 
Date: 
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 - 2:00pm to 6:00pm
Audience: 

Musical Families

- Comments: 0

[All ages] 

Newcastle Branch
Fridays, September 13th to December 13th
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Music helps your little one develop early literacy skills and gets them ready to read! Engage with your child while participating in a variety of musical experiences and activities including playing instruments, singing songs, and having fun with a parachute and bubbles!

Presented in Partnership with EarlyON Child and Family Centres Bowmanville.

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Dec 13 2019.
Friday, September 13, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, September 20, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, September 27, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, October 4, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, October 11, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, October 18, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, October 25, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, November 1, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, November 8, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, November 15, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, November 22, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, November 29, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, December 6, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, December 13, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Discovery Storytime

- Comments: 0

[Ages 2½ and up]

Newcastle Branch
Thursdays, September 5th to December 5th
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Young children learn about the world through exploration, and it’s never too early to start! Each week preschoolers in Discover Storytimes can spark their curiosity and literacy with hands-on STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and math) activities combined with their favourite stories and songs.

Talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing are the key skills and fun ways to help your child get ready to read! Developing early literacy skills makes it easier for children to read once they begin school, and helps foster a lifelong love of reading and learning!

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Dec 05 2019.
Thursday, September 5, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, September 12, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, October 3, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, October 17, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, October 31, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, November 14, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, November 21, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, November 28, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, December 5, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Tales for Toddlers

- Comments: 0

[NEW!]

[Ages 18 months to 2 years]

Newcastle Branch
Mondays, September 9th to December 2nd
10:30 to 11:15 a.m.

Please note there will be no program on Monday, October 14th due to Thanksgiving.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Share the love of reading, and build vocabulary with songs, rhymes, finger plays, and simple stories rhymes at this interactive program for busy toddlers and their caregivers!

Talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing are the key skills and fun ways to help your child get ready to read! Developing early literacy skills makes it easier for children to read once they begin school, and helps foster a lifelong love of reading and learning!

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Dec 02 2019 except Mon Oct 14 2019.
Monday, September 9, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, September 16, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, September 23, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, September 30, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, October 7, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, October 21, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, October 28, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, November 4, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, November 11, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, November 18, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, November 25, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Monday, December 2, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:15am
Audience: 

Musical Babies

- Comments: 0

[Ages 2 and under]

Newcastle Branch
Tuesdays, September 10th to December 17th
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Music helps your little one develop early literacy skills and gets them ready to read! Engage with your child while participating in a variety of musical experiences and activities including playing instruments, singing songs, and having fun with a parachute and bubbles!

Presented in Partnership with EarlyON Child and Family Centres Bowmanville.

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Dec 17 2019.
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, September 24, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, October 29, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Baby Bookworms

- Comments: 0

[Ages 18 months and under]

Newcastle Branch
Wednesdays, September 4th to December 4th
10:30 to 11:00 a.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Children love to be bounced, tickled, and read to. Learn how the sound of your voice, the rhythm of a song, holding a book and reading all get your child ready to read.

Talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing are the key skills and fun ways to help your child get ready to read! Developing early literacy skills makes it easier for children to read once they begin school, and helps foster a lifelong love of reading and learning!

 

Location: 
Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Dec 04 2019.
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Audience: 

Pages

Subscribe to Newcastle Branch